Skip To Main Content

Country Day Success at the UNC Chapel Hill Model United Nations Conference

Twenty-eight Upper School students represented Country Day at the UNC-Chapel Hill Model United Nations Conference. MUNCH is considered the most competitive MUN Conference in the state, attracting participation from up and down the East Coast. 

Student delegates at the conferences were split into 19 General Assemblies and Crisis Committees, each consisting of 20 to 50 delegates. The following Country Day students won top honors in their respective committees: 

  • Best Delegate: Emmanuel Omari, representing President Abdel Fattah Al-Sisi of the Republic of Egypt, West Africa Crisis Committee
  • Outstanding Delegate: Atish Pillai, representing David Bamigboye, Biafra Crisis Committee
  • Honorable Mention: Nicholas Feddersen, representing Queen Victoria, German Unification Crisis Committee
  • Honorable Mention: Abe Orlandi, representing Takeda Katsuyori, Sengoku Jidai Crisis Committee
  • Verbal Commendation: Arden Anton and Elise Exson, representing Philippines, UNESCO General Assembly

The following students participated in in MUNCH:

  • Arjun Anilkumar
  • Henry Anton
  • Arden Anton
  • Arav Bhardwaj
  • Neal Bhargava
  • Drew Bosley
  • Liza Bray
  • Alex Connors
  • Elise Exson
  • Nicholas Feddersen
  • William Harrison
  • Luke Ilfeld
  • Hans Majewski
  • Raunak Mandal
  • Sophie Martin
  • Kate Mattai
  • Sid Mody
  • Emmanuel Omari
  • Abe Orlandi
  • Olivia Patt
  • Atish Pillai
  • Jordan Popoola
  • Jake Ritter
  • Jackson Smith
  • Natalie Swanson
  • Akansha Swarmy
  • Claire Thomason
  • Corinne Tierney