Skip To Main Content

Class of 2024 Celebrates Impressive College Admissions Success and Scholarship Awards

On May 24, 2024, 135 seniors, along with their proud families, teachers, and friends, gathered in the Harris Performance Gym to commemorate the remarkable achievements of the Class of 2024 during the 63rd Commencement ceremony. The event marked by a beautiful spring day was a memorable milestone, signifying the beginning of their next chapter while always remaining a Buc for Life. 

Class of 2024 Graduation

The conferring of a Charlotte Country Day School diploma is so much more than a piece of paper acknowledging the completion of courses required for graduation. It signifies a young person who has learned the value of commitment and hard work, who knows how to solve problems and overcome difficulties, who possesses the ability to think critically and express oneself clearly, and who knows how to seek help from others while readily giving of themselves for the public good. It means Country Day Ready...ready to keep growing and making an impact on college campuses and beyond.

View Photos from all Class of 2024 Graduation Events

Senior Alexandra Connors was selected as the speaker for the class and Jennifer Joyner received the Alumni Association Distinguished Faculty Award.

Highlights from the College Counseling Office:

  • The class of 2024 was admitted to 166 colleges and universities.
  • They will attend 69 colleges and universities in 25 states, Washington, DC, and Germany.
  • 78% of the class will attend colleges and universities outside of North Carolina.
  • 43% of the class will attend private universities; 57% will attend public institutions.
  • The class has received nearly $11.9 million in scholarship offers based on academic, merit, athletic abilities, or special talent.
  • 17 seniors will continue their sports careers in college athletics.

Collegiate Athletes

17 seniors will continue their sports careers with the following athletic programs:

  • Campbell Baumgartner (Swimming, Connecticut College)
  • Amare Bethel (Basketball, Metropolitan State University of Denver)
  • Kendall Blount (Cheer, University of Louisville)
  • Liza Bray (Soccer, Kenyon College)
  • Kasey Cone (Track and Field/XC, University of Richmond)
  • David Harner (Track and Field/XC, Presbyterian College)
  • Freddy Klein (Swimming, University of California, Berkeley)
  • Emma Hayden Lewis (Track and Field/XC, University of Miami)
  • Noah McDonald (Tennis, Southern Methodist University)
  • Owen Miller (Baseball, Denison University)
  • Charlie O’Shea (Golf, Appalachian State University)
  • Marshall Pifer (Swimming, Denison University)
  • Josh Porter (Track and Field, Lehigh University)
  • Margaret Scheurer (Field Hockey, University of Richmond)
  • Kate Stajos (Track and Field, Michigan State University)
  • Dylan Swinehart (Soccer, Liberty University)
  • Ellie Wilkins (Field Hockey, Tufts University)

Fine Arts Accomplishments


Private Peaceful – State and Regional High School Play Festival Winners

  • Jack Cooper: Outstanding Actor
  • Magdeline Fraser: Excellence in Acting: 
  • Abby Wood: Outstanding Barbizon Tech Achievement
  • Outstanding Ensemble: Private Peaceful
  • Excellence in Choreography Execution

Bonnie & Clyde – Blumey Award Nominations 

  • Jack Cooper: Top Six Best Actor
  • Magdeline Fraser: Best Actress
  • Abby Wood: Top Six Best Stage Manager
  • Best Direction
  • Best Ensemble

Choir and Band/Orchestra

  • Shivani Sundaram performed in a choral festival with Voces8 at Queens University.
  • William Dixon performed with Voces8 in an international choral festival in London. 
  • Angelina Quan selected to North Carolina All-State Orchestra.

Graduation Awards

During the Commencement Exercises, 16 senior awards were presented, honoring students for their outstanding scholarship, dedication, leadership, and impactful contributions to the school community. Congratulations to the following students who were deserving recipients of these prestigious honors:

Senior of the Year Award: Alex Connors
Katy McCanless Underwood Spirit Award: Leela Leonard
Athlete's Cup Award: Charlie O'Shea
Victora Ludorum Award: Ellie Wilkins
Top Scholar for the Year Award: Olivia Patt
Cumulative Top Scholar Award: Aaryan Chopra
Mary Allen Todd English Award: Shelby Eliasek
Emma Watts Pickens Classics Award: Angelina Quan
Mary Nicholson Goddard French Award: Price Davis
Suzanne Pardee Hynes Spanish Award: Olivia Patt
Charlotte Country Day School Chinese Award: Riley Reddinger
J. R. Williams History Award: Shelby Eliasek
Dolly S. Hickman Science Award: Price Davis
Charles Heisler Bodine, Jr. Mathematics Award: Angelina Quan
Outstanding Cultural Contribution Award: Angelina Quan
Head of School's Award: Alex Connors, Alston Murphy

Senior Awards

Other senior awards presented during Senior Awards Night on May 22 include:

IB Senior Award: Maya Melese
Mildred Dalton Cox Global Citizenship Award: Aaryan Chopra, Elise Exson
Win Robinson Leadership and Service Award: Maggie Cleven, Cooper Pitts
Country Day Citizenship Award: Ellie Wilkins
Country Day Honor Award: Maisie Collins
Jason Walls Award: Ellie Wilkins
Scholar Athlete: Ben Proffitt, Pope Shuford, Ellie Wilkins  

Read a full list of departmental awards.