Skip To Main Content

Honoring the Past, Building for the Future

Did you know that Country Day has an Athletics Hall of Honor?

That's right! In 1998–99 and 2003–04 Country Day inducted two classes into our Athletics Hall of Honor. We are excited to announce our Athletics Hall of Honor will be reignited to honor the excellence, distinction, drive, and sportsmanship, both on and off the field, by individuals and teams who made an impact on Country Day Athletics.

Led by Athletics Hall of Honor Committee Chair Kelly Walton Miller ’90, Vice Co-Chairs Luke Blythe ’96 and Brad Touma, and their committee, we look forward to building a sustainable process, space, and program to inspire, connect, engage, and celebrate our athletic community.

The purpose of the Athletics Hall of Honor is to celebrate and preserve the tradition of athletic excellence at Charlotte Country Day School while creating a physical and archival space to be a source of pride and connection for alumni and inspiration for current and future students. This is a designation for exceptional performance and contribution, truly the “best of the best.”   

Athletics Hall of Honor

Perspectives, Winter 2004 – Tucker Laxton (Class of 1963), Vic Josephs (Class of 1963), Sam Cook (Class of 1966), Nora Josephs, and Alex Josephs

In 1998, Charlotte Country Day School created the Athletics Hall of Honor with a purpose and mission to perpetuate the memories of those individuals who, while at Country Day either through participation or support, brought recognition, honor, excellence, and distinction to the Charlotte Country Day School Athletic programs. 

Current Athletics Hall of Honor Honorees

  • John Cook
  • Sam Cook ’66
  • Basil M Boyd, M.D.*
  • Sally C. Dowd*
  • Victor J. Josephs ’63
  • John and Doris Miller
  • Bryan W. Pittman ’65
  • Mickie Pittman Sibley ’69
  • George R. Yeager*

*deceased at time of induction

Hall of Honor Committee

Kelly Walton Miller ’90, Chair
Luke Blythe ’96, Co-Vice Chair 
Brad Touma, Co-Vice Chair 

Katharine Atkins 
Spencer Clair '09 
Sam Farnham 
Stephanie Neill Harner '91 
Patrick Hobson '89 
Ashley O'Neill Kleiderer '88 
Mary Beth Luxton 
Stoney Sellars 
Stuart Sherrill '92 
Wellford Tabor 
Masanori Toguchi 
Eric Wilkins '93 
Drew Witman '06 


For questions or to get involved, please contact:

Kelly Walton Miller '90 | E-mail

Masanori Toguchi
Director of Athletics | E-mail 

Frequently Asked Questions