Welcome from the Head of School

Head of School Mark Reed

As I reflect on the legacy of leadership over the course of Country Day's history, I am in awe of the giants whose shoulders we stand on and benefit from today. Generations of educational, civic, and social leaders have guided our great school to make us one of the leading independent schools in the nation.

From our very first Board of Trustees, who had the vision to create the city's first independent school, to our International Baccalaureate Diploma Program, the first in North Carolina, Country Day has been leading the way. Other firsts, such as the Office of Diversity Planning, single-gender math classes in Middle School, and our International Studies program have served our students well in delivering our mission to develop the potential of every student.

Continuing that legacy, our current Board has approved both a Strategic Plan and a Master Facilities Plan that create a vision for taking Country Day to even greater heights. For every generation of Country Day students, committed teachers, administrators, parents, and trustees have delivered an academic experience that prepares them for success and purpose in a fast-changing world.

While nothing tells the Country Day story as effectively as a personal visit, our Web site will help you begin to discover what makes the Country Day experience so exceptional. As you read stories about our students and faculty living out our mission and values every day, I hope it becomes clear that we are preparing a diverse community of scholars who are ready to thrive as Country Day graduates. We are preparing the next generation of leaders and doers to be Country Day Ready.

Mark Reed
Head of School

Mark Reed's Bio

Mark Reed joined Charlotte Country Day School in July 2009. Under Mr. Reed's leadership, Country Day has enhanced campus safety, developed a multiyear Strategic Plan, increased endowment to $50 million, hosted several public art exhibits, improved athletic fields and campus aesthetics, and established an all-school convocation, Parent Speaker Series, and Science Outreach Program. In fall 2014, he was elected into the Headmasters Association, a highly selective professional organization comprised of the top-100 private school leaders.

He currently serves on the Board of Trustees for the following: Teachers Fellowship Institute (TFI), Southern Association of Independent Schools (SAIS), Foundation for the Carolinas, and Carolinas HealthCare System. He is a field professor and serves on the Board of Advisors for the Klingenstein Center, Columbia University, as well as the Board of Advisors for Carney, Sandoe & Associates.

Mr. Reed previously served as assistant headmaster at St. John's School, a K–12 coed day school of 1,200 students in Houston, Texas. Mr. Reed's prior roles at St. John's have included teacher, coach, dean of students, and interim director of advancement.

A native of Montana, Mr. Reed received his undergraduate degree from the University of Houston and a master's degree in educational administration/independent school leadership from Columbia University. In addition, while at St. John's he served as trustee of a 35-year-old college-preparatory school serving economically disadvantaged youth in the greater Houston area and as a member of a coalition supporting area nonprofit fine and performing arts organizations.

Mr. Reed was a world class high jumper from 1986–1993, where he competed on the international track and field circuit.

Administrative Council

Lauren Batten

Lauren Batten

Director of Advancement
Nancy Ehringhaus

Nancy Ehringhaus

Director of Admissions and Financial Aid
Joe Hernick

Joe Hernick

Director of Educational Technology
Matt Less

Matt Less

Head of Upper School
David Lynn

David Lynn

Director of International Studies
David Mancos

David Mancos

Chief Financial Officer
Bill Mulcahy

Bill Mulcahy

Head of Lower School
Mark Reed

Mark Reed

Head of School
Warren Sepkowitz

Warren Sepkowitz

Head of Middle School
Scott Waybright

Scott Waybright

Assistant Head of School
Abe Wehmiller

Abe Wehmiller

Director of Athletics
Brian Wise

Brian Wise

Director of Diversity Planning

2018-19 Board of Trustees

Todd A. Gorelick '82, Chair
David M. Benson '85, Vice Chair
Kathleen Knox Krupa, Vice Chair
James H. McLawhorn, Vice Chair
Amy Fonville Owen '81, Vice Chair
Walker L. Poole, Vice Chair
A. Wellford Tabor Sr., Vice 
Scott R. Stevens, Secretary-Treasurer 

Dr. Adelle Anthony-Williams
Howard C. Bissell*
Dr. Lauren I. Browne
Christina N. Byron
Edison P. Cassels '87
George S. Dewey IV '90
Alex D. Funderburg
Kenneth V. Garcia
Amanda S. Houser
Dr. Ameesha P. Kansupada
J. Scott Mattei
Leigh F. Moran
Mary Claudia Belk Pilon '92
Steven L. Purdy '87
Sally Cannon Saussy '67*
Stoney D. Sellars
R. Glenn Sherrill Jr. '89
Stephenson P. Shuford
Catherine S. Stempien
Andrew W. Tate
Dr. Lisa M. Toppin
William H. Zimmern '95
Mark E. Reed (Ex-officio)

* Life trustee