Friends of the Arts

The Friends of the Arts (FOTA) is a volunteer parent organization dedicated to supporting Country Day's fine arts program in all divisions by recruiting and inspiring volunteers to help at school exhibitions, concerts, productions, and other arts events.

2017-18 Volunteer Opportunities

There are many ways to get involved with the arts at Country Day. Volunteer opportunities include:

Special Events (Ashley Larkin, aslarkin@me.com)
Volunteers help plan, set up, and facilitate the Fine Arts Open House and FOTA Welcome Coffee usually held in the fall, as well as the Annual Art Exhibit Reception in February.

Lower School Visual Arts (Robin Hall Feddersen, rhfeddersen@gmail.com)
Volunteers hang student art in various areas on campus throughout the year. Volunteers should be flexible with scheduling.

Lower School Drama (Stefhanie Howe, stefnhowe@gmail.com)
Volunteers assist backstage with grade-level plays. Volunteer times are flexible and are usually between one and two hours in length. All Lower School parents are invited to participate.

Middle School Visual Arts (Laurie Alexson, lauriealexson17@gmail.com)
Volunteers help prepare and hang art selected for display at our school and in the community. Volunteers also help with the 7th and 8th Grade Fine Arts Night in April.

Middle School Music and Drama (Candice Campbell, candicec823@aol.com)
Volunteers help support the music and drama departments as needed throughout the year including Grandparents' Day, and the winter and spring concerts.

Upper School Visual Arts (Meredith Baumstein, merbaumstein@gmail.com)
Volunteers assist the Fine Arts department throughout the year. Volunteers help plan, set up, and facilitate receptions, such as student art receptions and the visiting artist reception, and assist with Upper School Arts Fest.

Upper School Music (Liz Horton, rrobandliz@aol.com)
Volunteers assist the Fine Arts department throughout the year. Opportunities include fitting choir dresses and tuxedoes, organizing a Halloween party for the band and chamber choir, and planning receptions for the semi-annual concerts in December and May.

Upper School Drama (Jeanna Prevette, jeannas5282@bellsouth.net)
Volunteers assist the Fine Arts department throughout the year and help with Upper School One Act Plays, musicals, and drama performances as well as Upper School Arts Fest. Duties may include planning cast parties, ticket sales, or back stage assistance.

Soup Bowls for Hospice Project (Robin Brown, brbrown1@windstream.net)
Volunteers help with this annual event as needed. Duties include checking in participants, helping with supplies, and demonstrating the bowl-making process, no experience necessary. Volunteers also help with glazing and packing the finished bowls for donation to Soup on Sunday, a fundraising event for Hospice and Palliative Care of Charlotte.

2017-18 Board Members

ChairMichele Assaf Saleebymcaassaf@gmail.com
SecretaryDebbie Porterporterdeb@yahoo.com
TreasurerAnisha Samiyanishasamiy@aol.com
Lower School Visual Arts RepresentativeRobin Hall Feddersenrhfeddersen@gmail.com
Lower School Drama RepresentativeStefhanie Howestefnhowe@gmail.com
Middle School Music and Drama RepresentativeCandice Campbellcandicec823@aol.com
Middle School Visual Arts RepresentativeLaurie Alexsonlauriealexson17@gmail.com
Upper School Visual Arts RepresentativeMeredith Baumsteinmerbaumstein@yahoo.com
Upper School Drama RepresentativeJeanna Prevettejeannas5282@bellsouth.net
Upper School Music RepresentativeLiz Hortonrrobandliz@aol.com
Big Saturday CoordinatorRobin Rileyrileyrobbin@gmail.com
Soup Bowl CoordinatorRobin Brownbrbrown1@windstream.net
Special Events CoordinatorAshley Larkinaslarkin@me.com
Charlotte Country Day School
1440 Carmel Rd Road, Charlotte,
NC North Carolina 28226
704.943.4500
powered by finalsite